Chapman and CLA-OC Announce 2nd ePrize Winners

Share This Post

On May 20, CLA-OC, in collaboration with Chapman University Attallah College of Educational Studies, held their Education Prize (ePrize 2) Winners Announcement Webinar. The focus of this ePrize is reflected on the mission of the Orange County Excellent Public Schools (OCEPS) initiative. Their goal is to foster collaborative projects among public school districts, charter schools, and community organizations to ultimately improve educational outcomes and close student achievement gaps, and thus support career outcomes, for underserved students in Orange County. 

ePrize Announcement Webinar – May 21, 2020

Collaboration with CLA-OC Member Companies

Three major CLA-OC member organizations will collaborate with the ePrize award winners to bring their project ideas to fruition. The programs themselves concentrate on the following high-growth industry sectors:

Combined these organizations have a wide variety of job categories representing 11 of the 15 California CTE industry sectors.

Winners of the 2nd ePrize

The OCEPS Initiative 2nd ePrize judging panel awarded three project ideas from a $150,000 pool of funds. 

All three pilot projects will serve as Work-Based Learning (WBL) program models that can be applied across district and county.

Thank You To Our ePrize Judges, Committee Members, Partners, and Sponsors

ePrize Judging Committee: 

  • Dr. Margaret Grogan, Dean, Attallah College of Educational Studies Chapman University
  • Tom Capizzi, VP Human Resources, CHRO at Children’s Hospital of Orange County (CHOC Children’s)
  • Stacie Sasaki, VP, Global Head of Campus Recruiting, PIMCO
  • Amy Kaufman, Director, Career Education and Workforce Development, CEO Leadership Alliance of Orange County (CLA-OC)
  • Bob Martin, Senior Director of Performance Excellence, University of California, Irvine
  • Nithin Jilla, Program Manager, Education CEO Leadership Alliance Orange County (CLA OC)
  • Dr. Amy Griffiths, Assistant Professor, Attallah College of Educational Studies Chapman University
  • Kathy Boyd, Director, Career Education Orange County Department of Education (OCDE)
  • Laurie Smith, Program Manager, OC STEM Initiative

ePrize RFP Development Committee:

  • Margaret Grogan, Chapman Attallah College of Educational Studies 
  • Richard Arum, UC Irvine School of Education
  • Kim Case, Cal State Fullerton College of Education
  • Thomas Capizzi, CHOC Children’s 
  • Bob Martin, UC Irvine
  • Stacie Sasaki, PIMCO
  • Jesse Ben-Ron, OCBC
  • Amy-Jane Griffiths, Chapman Attallah College of Educational Studies 
  • Kathy Boyd, OCDE 
  • Laurie Smith, OC STEM 
  • Malek Moubasher, OC STEM
  • Nithin Jilla, CLA-OC

Education Partners:

  • Orange County Department of Education (OCDE)
  • OC STEM Initiative
  • Chapman University, Attallah College of Educational Studies

2nd ePrize Supporters:

  • Sun Family Foundation
  • Kay Family Foundation
  • Pamela and Andrew Horowitz Family